UBC Music Faculty and Alum win Society for Music Theory Publication Awards⁠

Congratulations to Leigh VanHandel, Dylan Robinson, and Leslie Tilley for their Society for Music Theory (SMT) Publication Awards!⁠

UBC Music Faculty, Leigh VanHandel and Dylan Robinson

Leigh VanHandel (Chair & Associate Professor, Theory Division)⁠
Outstanding Multi-authored Collection Award⁠ given for a distinguished multi-author collection for a volume edited by Leigh VanHandel, The Routledge companion to music theory pedagogy.

Dylan Robinson (Associate Professor, Ethnomusicology)⁠
Wallace Berry Award⁠ given for his book, Hungry Listening.

Wallace Berry was the chair of the UBC music department from 1978–84 and founding Vice President of the Society for Music Theory from 1977-1982. After his death in 1991, the Society for Music Theory established the “Wallace Berry Award,” an annual award recognizing outstanding books recently published in the field of music theory. ⁠

Leslie Tilley (PhD 2013)⁠
Emerging Scholar Award⁠ for Making it up together: the art of collective improvisation in Balinese music and beyond. The University of Chicago Press, 2019.

We should also mention that to co-winner of Outstanding Multi-authored Collection Award⁠ was Thomas Adès Studies, edited by Edward Venn and Philip Stoecker, published by Cambridge University Press, a book to which UBC Faculty John Roeder (Professor, Music Theory) contributed a chapter titled “The RICH Logic of Adès’s The Tempest and The Exterminating Angel.

MA Theory student Jason Yin Hei Lee delivered a paper at SMT Conference titled “The Semantic Evolution of Chromatic Mediants: A Baroque Origin” and also gave a short talk titled “A Corpus Study of Tone-Melody Correspondence in Cantopop, 2000-2020.”

MA student in musicology, Emily Liang delivered her paper, “Embodiment as Spiritual Transformation: Aspects of Materiality and Physicality in Ritualistic Cantonese Opera Performance in Vancouver” at the SMT Conference as well.

Congratulations to all!

Learn more about the Society for Music Theory.⁠