vancouver chamber choir

Spring award nominations for School of Music faculty and alumni

Two award winners and dozens of finalists —  of Music faculty and alumni have recently made a splash in major Canadian competitions!

This weekend, sopranos Anna Toumine (BMus’12) and Elizabeth Harris (BMus’16, MMus’18) won second and third place, respectively, at Vancouver Opera’s inaugural Vocal Competition. Conceived as a launching pad for young opera singers, the competition brought eight gifted young opera singers from across Canada together in front of a panel of judges that included renowned mezzo-soprano Judith Forst, conductor Jonathan Darlington, and more.

Meanwhile, the just-announced 2019 Western Canadian Music Award nominees include Turning Point Ensemble, Vancouver Chamber Choir, and the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra for Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year, Hard Rubber Orchestra for Jazz Artist/Ensemble of the Year, and Farshid Samandari (MMus’07, DMA’14) for Classical Composer of the Year. All four ensembles feature School of Music faculty and alumni.

Here’s the full list of personnel:

WCMA Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year

Turning Point Ensemble: UBC faculty Jeremy Berkman (trombone), Brenda Fedoruk (flute), Vern Griffiths (percussion), Ingrid Chiang (bassoon) as well as clarinetist A.K. Coope (BMus’90).

Vancouver Chamber Choir: Matthew Gaskin (MMus’17), Christina Cichos (BMus’12), Emily Cheung (BMus’06), Eric Schwarzhoff (BMus’12, MMus’14), George Roberts (BMus’85), Karyn Way (BMus’96, MMus’98), Madeline Lucy Smith (BMus’07).

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra: concertmaster Karl Stobbe (BMus’94).

WCMA Jazz Artist /Ensemble of the Year

Hard Rubber Orchestra
Artistic director and composer John Korsrud (BMus’89); trumpeters Alan Matheson (faculty), Jamie Hovorka (BMus’95), Robin Shier (BEd’02), Bill Clark (BEd’99); trombonists Jeremy Berkman (faculty), Dennis Esson (faculty), Rob McKenzie (BMus’77, MMus’89), Bob Rogers (BMus86, BEd’92); saxophonists Mike Braverman (BMus’92, BEd’93, MEd’02), Monik Nordine (BMus’92); pianists Allen Stiles (BMus’84, MMus’86), Chie Nagatani (BMus’91), Adrienne Park (BMus’91); string players Finn Manniche (BMus’86), Cameron Wilson (BMus’88), Bob Clark (BMus’86), Sandy Fiddes (BMus’87); vocalists Siphiwe McKenzie (BMus’95), Elizabeth Skillings (BMus’95); percussionist Phil Belanger (BMus’77); and composers Keith Hamel (faculty), John Oliver (BMus’82), Bob Pritchard (faculty), Fred Stride, Cameron Wilson, Sandy Fiddes, Rob McKenzie.

WCMA Classical Composer of the Year
Farshid Samandari (MMus’07, DMA’14)

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees!